3. I, Daniel Blake & Modern British Austerity

Play episode

Welcome back to PARTISAN, a podcast exploring politics and history in film and entertainment.

Join your host, Tony Black, as he is joined by host of the Den of Ten podcast, Sam Stokes, to discuss Ken Loach’s 2015 searing British drama, I, DANIEL BLAKE.

Next time on Partisan, guest Nick Chandler joins us to discuss Tony Gilroy’s 2007 corporate thriller MICHAEL CLAYTON…

Host / Editor / Producer

Tony Black

Guest

Sam Stokes

SHOW NOTES

Interviews:
Ken Loach talks to The Guardian: https://amp.theguardian.com/film/2016/oct/15/ken-laoch-film-i-daniel-blake-kes-cathy-come-home-interview-simon-hattenstone
Ken Loach talks to The Independent: https://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/films/features/i-daniel-blake-ken-loach-interview-cathy-come-home-benefits-cuts-a7377391.html?amp
Ken Loach talks to The Skinny: https://www.theskinny.co.uk/film/interviews/ken-loach-i-daniel-blake?amp
Ken Loach talks to Vox: https://www.vox.com/platform/amp/culture/2017/1/4/13980456/ken-loach-interview-i-daniel-blake-bureaucracy-palme-dor
Dave Johns talks to National World: https://www.nationalworld.com/culture/film/dave-johns-interview-daniel-blake-film-legacy-comedy-career-3590478?amp
Ken Loach talks to Empire: https://www.empireonline.com/movies/features/ken-loach-daniel-blake/
Paul Laverty talks to No Film School: https://nofilmschool.com/2017/01/paul-laverty-interview-i-daniel-blake
Ken Loach talks to The Hollywood Reporter: https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/tv/tv-news/bbc-broadcast-ken-loachs-i-daniel-blake-sparks-debate-uk-1174073/amp/
Hayley Squires talks to Screen Daily:https://www.screendaily.com/features/i-daniel-blake-star-hayley-squires-i-cant-walk-away-from-whats-happened-in-this-film-/5114347.article

Analysis:
Give them dignity: a review of I, Daniel Blake by A.R. Gibbons: https://usir.salford.ac.uk/id/eprint/44550/1/Give%20them%20Dignity.pdf
I, Daniel Blake: An Authentic Cinema by Girish Shambu: https://www.criterion.com/current/posts/5277-i-daniel-blake-an-authentic-cinema
I, Daniel Blake is a realistic depiction of life on benefits. Isn’t it? by Frances Ryan
https://amp.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2017/feb/16/daniel-blake-realistic-life-benefits
I, Daniel Blake: Ken Loach and the scandal of Britain’s benefits system: https://amp.theguardian.com/film/2016/sep/11/i-daniel-blake-ken-loach-director-film-movie-benefits-system
I, Daniel Blake | A Sociological Analysis by Sociocinema: https://youtu.be/imRdEjsrbqI

Like our Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/partisanpod

Follow us on Twitter:
@partisanpod

Support the We Made This podcast network on Patreon:
www.patreon.com/wemadethis

We Made This on Twitter: @we_madethis
wemadethisnetwork.com

Title music: Progressive Progress (c) Howard Harper-Barnes via epidemicsound.com

Leave a Reply

More from this show

Subscribe

Partisan
%d bloggers like this: